School History Tarpeena has had numerous school locations in the early history of the district. The first school was opened in 1886. Another school was opened about 1905 at the northern end of Tarpeena.
After about 5 years at this location, the school venue changed to a place known as "Fields" and this school was used for about 20 years and then moved to Kalangadoo.
In 1929 the first education department school was established on the present site.
The one-room building existed until it was demolished in 1982. Since then there has been lots of changes for example data cabling, reverse cycling air-conditioning throughout, new blue carpet to ensure quality learning and for comfort.
Our school maintains a family atmosphere. Our school is set in picturesque grounds with plenty of space for children to play and for outdoor lessons to take place. We have an activity room for whole school gatherings and an extremely well stocked resource center.
Term 1, 2005 saw the installation of the new playground by the Building and Construction Program at Grant High School.
The Department installed a new toilet block.
It has taken a long time and much persuading by a number of community members to finally see the school koala crossing operating. The honour of turning the lights on for the first time went to Shirley Little. She has campaigned for more than 25 years.